Doctoral Fellowships & Awards

In addition to providing stipend and tuition support for our doctoral students, the Department of Psychology offers the following awards as opportunities for additional funding in recognition of excellence and outstanding scholarship. The deadline for all application materials, including a letter of support from a Department of Psychology faculty member, is March 22, 2021. Please direct any questions to Dr. Polemnia Amazeen, Psychology Awards Committee Chair.  Applications and letters should be sent to the Awards Committee at

The Department of Psychology Doctoral Scholar Award

Made possible by the generous donations of department faculty and others, this award is intended to recognize the accomplishments of PhD students who are demonstrating overall excellence in the psychology doctoral program. Excellence will be judged with respect to contributions to psychological science; and/or the teaching of psychology; and/or community involvement reflecting application of psychological knowledge.

Eligibility requirements and the Doctoral Award Application are available here.

(Separate application and awards are available for graduate students in the Applied Behavior Analysis Master’s Program.)

The Robert B. Cialdini Dissertation Project Prize

The Robert B. Cialdini Dissertation Project Prize in Psychology was established to recognize the efforts of a Ph.D. student who demonstrates excellent scholarship in an area of psychology other than social psychology.

Eligibility Requirements and the Cialdini Prize (non-social) Application are available here.

The Martha E. Bernal Memorial Scholarship Award Endowment

The Bernal Award is named in honor and in memory of Martha E. Bernal, who became the first Latina to receive a PhD in psychology in the United States. As a tribute to Martha, family members, friends and colleagues established this Fund as a means of supporting the continuation of her innovative work on ethnic identity development and for her advocacy in preparing psychologists to serve ethnic minority populations.  The Department of Psychology is honored to be the ASU Beneficiary and responsible for the selection of the annual recipient of the Martha E. Bernal Memorial Award.

Eligibility Requirements and the Bernal Award Application are available here.

Dr. Elizabeth Capaldi Phillips Memorial Award for Graduate Research in the Psychology of Eating

The Dr. Elizabeth Capaldi Phillips Memorial Award for Graduate Research in the Psychology of Eating was established to recognize and encourage the efforts of ASU graduate students researching the psychology of eating—Dr. Capaldi Phillip’s research focus and passion.

Eligibility Requirements and the Capaldi Phillips Award Application are available here.