Scholarships and Awards in the Department of Psychology

Home / Student Life / The Undergraduate Experience / Scholarships & Awards

Scholarships & Awards

The scholarships and awards listed below are available to our psychology majors and are presented at the department's annual award ceremony each April. Award amounts average about $1,200 per scholarship with a range from $100 to over $2500.

Application is by the link below and must be received by Feb 10 at 5pm. 

Psychology Undergraduate Scholarship Application Form Spring 2020


Department of Psychology Scholarships & Awards (alphabetically by last name)

The Zita M. Johnson Child Study Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded annually to a Psychology major pursuing studies leading to a career serving young children and their families. The award is intended to support the academic progress of a student who has demonstrated an interest in child psychology, early intervention, child care, family counseling, social services for children and families, applied child development research, or social policy. The candidate must demonstrate a potential for academic success and a clear commitment to child and family issues. This award is for Psychology majors with a minimum GPA of 3.20 who will be enrolled full-time at ASU the fall semester following award presentation.

Ernest Lindholm Award for Outstanding Senior in Biopsychology. This award is made to the Psychology major whose research activity best represents the field of biopsychology. Recipients need to have a minimum GPA of 3.30 (both cumulative and psychology).

Phil Mickelson Award for Excellence in Psychology. This endowed award was established by Phil Mickelson to honor former Dean Gary Krahenbuhl and is based on the current achievement of a Psychology major with a minimum GPA of 3.00 who will be enrolled full-time as an ASU senior the fall semester following award presentation with at least one semester until graduation. Phil Mickelson was an ASU Psychology major (BA, 1992), an outstanding student-athlete, and is currently a top-ranked PGA player.  

The Dariel Overby Memorial Scholarship Award. This endowed award is made to a deserving and outstanding student in memory of Dariel “Rusty” Overby who came to ASU to complete her undergraduate degree after having a successful experience as a Colorado State volleyball player. Dariel’s educational experience at ASU was life transforming; she majored in Psychology and was mentored by exceptional educators who helped her excel. As a Psychology undergrad, Dariel had a strong desire to help people and wanted to pursue a graduate degree. Two days before graduation, Dariel’s life was taken from her when she was murdered. This award memorializes her spirit and dedication to her education. Award guidelines are flexible with consideration given to academic record and financial need. This award is for Psychology majors only who will be enrolled full-time at ASU the fall semester following award presentation.

Psychology Scholar Awards. Six scholarships of $1000 each will be awarded by the Department of Psychology in recognition of outstanding academic achievement plus engagement in research activities and/or the application of psychology in the community. There will be two scholarships each for rising sophomores, rising juniors, and rising seniors.

John W. Reich Prize in Applied Social Psychology. This award is made to the Psychology major (at any level) whose research activity best exemplifies the approach to research associated with Professor Reich— the testing of theories in non-laboratory settings and the analysis of significant social problems with scientific techniques.  Recipients need to be a declared Psychology major, with a minimum GPA of 3.30 (both cumulative and psychology).

The Smith Marshall Scholarship. This endowed scholarship will be awarded to a Psychology major who must be enrolled full-time at ASU; have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.50; and attended high school in the state of Arizona. Recipients of this award must also be a U.S. citizen and provide documented financial need as defined by ASU's Financial Aid and Scholarship Services.  Preference will be given to those students who attended K-12 in Arizona.  Two to three of these scholarships are available to undergraduate Psychology majors each year.

Psychology Undergraduate Scholarship Application Form Spring 2020

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Dean’s Medal Award (Medal and Recognition at Graduation). Honoring outstanding academic achievement and engagement in psychological research, Dean’s Medals will adorn 18 of the 4,000 ASU seniors graduating with degrees in natural sciences, humanities and social sciences each spring. The medal was created by Robert E. Page, Jr., former Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, to recognize the top graduating student in each of the degree-granting schools and departments in the college. From this elite group of 18, three (3) are chosen to receive the ASU Alumni Association Outstanding Graduate Awards – one for each of three areas: Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.